JT Shumate Named Recipient of The Chuck Ealey College Undefeated Spirit Award


TOLEDO, Ohio – University of Toledo senior forward JT Shumate has been named the 2023 recipient of The Chuck Ealey College Undefeated Spirit Award. Shumate is the 16th Rocket to receive the prestigious award. Shumate will be honored at the High School Undefeated Spirit Award Ceremony on Sunday, April 16 at 12:30 p.m. at the ProMedica Steam Plant.

Shumate wrapped up his tremendous career by earning First-Team All-MAC and CSC Academic All-America First-Team honors in the 2022-23 campaign. He is just the third Rocket student-athlete ever to be named to the first-team Academic All-America squad on two occasions. Shumate ranked third on the team with 16.0 ppg and led the Rockets with 1.2 bpg and an 86.7 free-throw percentage. Shumate ranks first in program history in career marks with a 43.7 three-point FG% and an 84.1 FT%. He also ranks fifth all-time with a 55.4 FG% and 117 blocked shots. 

Founded in 2007, the Chuck Ealey Foundation presents the award to the student-athlete who best demonstrates the behaviors of living the Undefeated Spirit in their sport, in the classroom and in the community. Award winners are role models for making good choices and living with an Undefeated Spirit in everything that they do.

The award also recognizes that behind every person with an Undefeated Spirit, there are others around them who have instilled this spirit. Chuck Ealey was one of the greatest football players in UT history. A quarterback, Ealey led the Rockets to a perfect 35-0 record and three Mid-American Conference Championships from 1969-71. His mother, Earline Ealey, is the inspiration behind the award. She lived her life with an Undefeated Spirit and instilled that spirit in Chuck. Chuck has been working to instill the same spirit into his family and everyone around him.

Chuck Ealey Undefeated Spirit Award Winners
2008 – Stephen Williams, Football
2009 – Allie Clifton, Women’s Basketball
2010 – Marguerite Johnson, Women’s Golf
2011 – Melissa Goodall, Women’s Basketball
2012 – Andola Dortch, Women’s Basketball
2013 – Ben Pike, Football
2014 – Becky Rhodes, Women’s Soccer
2015 – Julius Brown, Men’s Basketball
2016 – Brenae Harris, Women’s Basketball
2017 – Janelle Noe, Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country
2018 – Tre’Shaun Fletcher, Men’s Basketball
2019 – Cody Thompson, Football
2020 – Reggie Gilliam, Football
2021 – Tycen Anderson, Football
2022 – Bryant Koback, Football
2023 – JT Shumate, Men’s Basketball

Print Friendly Version

Written by ToledoBuzz Staff

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings