JT Shumate Selected for College Team Skills & 3X3U Championships


TOLEDO, Ohio – Toledo’s two-time All-MAC honoree JT Shumate is one of 24 men’s and women’s players who have been selected to compete in the 2023 State Farm College Team Skills and 3X3U Championship on Wednesday, March 29 at 7:30 p.m. ET in the Bayou Music Center in Houston, Texas.

The event will be the first in a series of three activities hosted by Intersport at the venue in the lead up to college basketball’s championship weekend. It will consist of players competing together in a variety of team events: the Applebee’s Team Shooting Competition, the Celsius Obstacle Course and the TaxAct 3X3U National Championship.

Building on its history of hosting the 3X3U National Championship, Intersport will stage a women’s edition of the event for the first time that will be contested as part of State Farm College Team Skills & 3X3U Championship. The six teams will compete head-to-head in the Shooting and Relay competitions, while the men and women will face each other as part of the 3X3U Championship. The winning team in each event will earn $5,000, with maximum possible winnings of $15,000.

Shumate, who will be on a team with Liberty’s Darius McGhee, Robert Morris’ Kahliel Spear and BYU’s Rudi Williams, earned first-team All-MAC honors as a senior after being named second-team all-league honors as a junior. He ranked third on the team with 16.0 ppg and led the Rockets with 1.2 bpg and an 86.7 free-throw percentage. Shumate ranks first in program history in career marks with a 43.7 three-point FG% and an 84.1 FT%. He also ranks fifth all-time with a 55.4 FG% and 117 blocked shots. 
ESPN2 will air the event on Sunday at 9 p.m. CT.
Following are the 24 athletes and their respective teams who will participate in the State Farm College Team Skills and 3X3U Championships:

Team Ballers
Patrick Gardner, Marist
DeAndre Gholston, Missouri
Malique Jacobs, Kent State
Khalil Shabazz, San Francisco
Team Hoopers
Brendan Adams, George Washington
Justin Johnson, UT Rio Grande Valley
Isaiah Moore, South Alabama
Jake Stephens, Chattanooga
Team Sky-Walkers
Darius McGhee, Liberty
JT Shumate, Toledo
Kahliel Spear, Robert Morris
Rudi Williams, BYU
Team Souljas
Hayden Brown, South Carolina
Xavier Castaneda, Akron
Marcellus Earlington, San Diego
Tucker Richardson, Colgate
Team Dream
Ciaja Harbison, Vanderbilt
Chloe Marotta, Marquette
Paige Robinson, Illinois State
Bre’Amber Scott, Texas Tech
Team LoneStars
Caitlin Bickle, Baylor
Brittany Davis, Alabama
Mercedes Staples, San Diego State
Keishana Washington, Drexel
Print Friendly Version

Written by ToledoBuzz Staff

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings